Summer Travels

Well, this teacher’s summer travels are finished for another year.  Back in town and sneaking back into the classroom to begin some projects and start getting ready for the new school year!

I posted a few weeks ago about my roadtrip to Maryland, so I thought I’d share a few pictures from my other travels this summer as well.

I stopped in Chicago on my way to Wisconsin to spend the day with another college friend, Emily. We decided to try out another hot dog place that we had never been to before (and believe me, we’ve hit quite a few of those in our years in the Chicago area!!).

Image

It is called Hot Doug’s, and they have quite the interesting menu.  There are all sorts of sausages named after celebrities, the “game of the week” (it was alligator sausages while we were there) and other fancy specialty sausages as well.

Image

The traditional, Chicago-style hot dog.  If you order one, don’t you dare ask for ketchup!

After lunch there, we wandered around downtown Chicago, took in some of our favorite sites, and munched on more yummy goodies (including the amazing Giordano’s Chicago-style pizza!).

Image

Fun day in Chicago with a very fun person.  Love ya, Em!

Time in Wisconsin was spent with family.  We celebrated the 4th of July with yummy goodies, a good old-fashioned Sheboygan brat fry, a 2-mile race with my aunt and cousins, parade, and fireworks.

Image

My cousin’s first race, and she did awesome!

Image

Family photo at the parade (it was a little sunny, haha).

We did a few other family fun things while I was home.  A day trip to Green Bay to visit the zoo and Lambeau Field, a 11-mile bike ride to a local state park, and mini-golf to celebrate my brother’s birthday.

Image

Me and my mom, or a couple of penguins?

Image

Lambeau Field…Go Pack Go!!

Image

This was after the ride TO the park.  Notice there is no picture of how we felt after the ride BACK from the park.  🙂

Image

We played two games of golf.  I did not win either game.

There are still a few weeks of summer left, but they are always filled with eagerness to get back in the classroom and start gearing up for another year.  I hope you all are having a great summer so far.  Enjoy the few weeks we have left!!

(And stay tuned for a post on my classroom renovations!  It’s going to be great!)

Leave a Reply

