Final Post from Kisumu

Jambo!

Today was our last full day in Kisumu.  Tomorrow we will leave for the airport at about 3:30 in the afternoon.  I am thankful to have the morning yet to spend more time with the children at school.

Today was church at the Point of Grace chapel this morning.  Pastor Stecker and Pastor Chase led the service.  The school choir sang a few songs for us, and we also sang some great Reformation hymns.  As we left church after the service, the kids all sang as we were walking out.  Once again, I was overcome with emotions: a mixture of the kids’ voices praising their Lord and the realization that today was the last full day we had to spend here before heading back home.

Image

After church, some of the ladies in the area brought in items they had made.  Lorna and others here have been working with them, and the ladies meet to make items to sell.  They will have a sewing lab set up soon for these ladies to use as well.  The items were really neat, and it was great to be able to support wonderful people working to make a better life for themselves and their families.

This afternoon we went into town to spend some time at the Masai Market.  We had a great time haggling for the best prices, and finding lots of treasures and gifts to bring home.  We also stopped at the Nakumatt for some last minute shopping as well.  I know most of us are at the end of our Kenya shillings, so it’s probably a good thing we’re leaving tomorrow!

When we got back to Point of Grace, Tim, Bryan, and I went up to the dorms to play with the kids until dinner.  We sang songs, played hide-and-go seek, danced, and all around had a great time.  I also found the girl that I have decided to sponsor in addition to my sweet little girl.  Interestingly enough, they are both named Marianne!  (I haven’t yet found out if the spelling is the same or not, but easy for me to remember, right?)  I got to tell her that I was going to be her sponsor, and I put together a few things I had picked up on our few trips into town.  She was so excited, and then told me, “I think I am going to cry.  You have to leave tomorrow!”  You and me both, sister.

Image

After dinner, Tim and I went back up to the dorms, and Dorcas (one of the teachers) gave us a tour of all the dorms.  The youngest children are mixed together, boys and girls, from ages 3-grade 3.  That young dorm was definitely the noisiest.  Then the boys from grades 4-6 are together, girls 3-5, girls 6-7, and then boys 7.  The older boys were a party waiting to happen, that is for sure.  We had a few laughs with them before returning to the Meeker’s for the night.  I am excited to see these kids one more time tomorrow before leaving.

Image

Image

Image

Image

This will probably be my last blog post until we are back in the states.  Thank you for all of your prayers, comments, and support over the past two weeks.  This trip couldn’t happen without your support.

It has truly been an adventure of a lifetime.  I cannot begin to express to you all how much of a life-changing experience this has been for all of us.  When your loved ones come home, they will not be able to answer the “How was your trip?” question…unless you’ve got a month to sit and listen to stories, experiences, and picture commentary.  God is truly doing great things here in Kenya.  And as Pastor Stecker put it this morning in his sermon, while we traveled thousands of miles to be missionaries in Africa, the real missionaries are the people here who have taught us so many amazing lessons over the past two weeks.  We just got to be a part of it.  To God be the glory!

2 thoughts on “Final Post from Kisumu

  1. Sue Schumm October 27, 2013 / 4:21 PM

    Blessings for a safe “on schedule” trip home…Love your updates!

  2. Nancy Jones October 27, 2013 / 7:39 PM

    I echo Sue’s comments. I loved keeping up with you all on your blog. Blessings on your journey home! One question: Did you take more or less than 1,000 pictures??

Leave a Reply

